The Michael S. Rosenbaum Memorial Scholarship

The Michael S. Rosenbaum Memorial Scholarship provides funds to allow an undergraduate or graduate journalism student to get experience in international reporting as part of the Journalism Without Walls program. This program has sent students on reporting trips to China, Russia, Cuba, Kenya and Turkey, with trips scheduled in the summer and winter semesters. Students can apply for the $2,500 Rosenbaum scholarship when they apply for the trip.

For more on Journalism Without Walls, contact Professor Charles Haddad ( Journalism Without Walls is run by the School of Journalism’s Marie Colvin Center for International Reporting.

The scholarship was established in 2013 to honor the memory of Emmy-winning CBS News producer Michael Rosenbaum. Rosenbaum had an illustrious 27-year career at CBS, producing for CBS News, 60 Minutes, and 60 Minutes II. He served as Tel Aviv bureau chief during the First Palestinian Intifada, collaborating with correspondents Dan Rather and Bob Simon. His field producing during the assassination of Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin in 1995 led to the Peabody award and two Emmy awards. He died of a brain tumor in May, 2012, at age 64.

Rosenbaum’s family and friends created a foundation that provided $30,000 to establish the scholarship. This gift was matched by a special grant from Jim and Marilyn Simons and the Simons Foundation, to establish a $60,000 endowed scholarship.

“We anticipate that Michael’s legacy of producing journalism that made a difference will not only inspire those students who go overseas, but all of our journalism students,” Howard Schneider, Dean of the School of Journalism, said when the scholarship was established. “It has never been more important to have role models to inspire the next generation.”

2016 recipient Taylor Ha, center, with her parents, left, and Dean Howard Schneider and Ilene Schneider

Rosenbaum Scholarship Recipients:
2016 – Taylor Ha
2014 – Francesca Campione
2015 – Kelly Zegers